Attachment Parenting

I’ve been reading about attachment parenting since my pregnancy and I would have never guessed I would lean towards that. I always thought I’d be one of those strict parents aiming for structure but since A.J came along, I just want him to feel loved and secure always. I’m still reading into it but I do know that cosleeping is part of this form of parenting and I am guilty of it.

20130425-231410.jpg

I bought a cosleeper bassinet for A.J because I’m exclusively breastfeeding and it’s just SO MUCH EASIER. It also helps for those fears every new mom probably has where she checks her baby’s breathing every ten minutes (Isn’t SIDS the scariest thought or what).

I admit he hates the thing because it has no padding so he practically sleeps on a hard surface and its effin cold in NYC; I don’t blame him. I started sleeping with him because I felt so sad for him and it ended up being the best. I still cosleep with him from time to time (more times than not) and its amazing for us. I love the security I feel with him next to me. We smell each other and feel each others warmth. Bonus: his pacifier never falls out because its resting on my breast so he doesn’t freak out.

20130425-232551.jpg

Oh and it’s a GODSEND for breastfeeding mamas like myself. Just wake up, shove boob in mouth, and snooze off. Forget warming milk and all that jazz. I love it. I get a lot of criticism for sleeping with him and how he’ll be spoiled but at the end of the day, he’s MY spoiled son. I will cross whatever bridge when I get there. I don’t know how long I’ll cosleep but I’ll enjoy it until then.

I’ll keep you guys posted on any more attachment parenting from this household and how it’s working out.

20130425-232913.jpg

God bless.

One thought on “Attachment Parenting

  1. Pingback: Detachment Anxiety

Leave a Reply

