Supplementing before the holidays

Today was so so so busy. Who knew taking two days off could be so not worth it? I was swamped with work. I’ve been starting my days early and developing a schedule. It’s helped me stay sane. I can remember things perfectly for other people but will forget my own responsibilities. So I live by my planner.

I’ve decided to supplement AJs diet. So far I’ve breastfed him since birth exclusively. At six months I brought in the solid foods. But I’m so busy now that I’m working, attending church and caring for him without a spouse, I can barely find the time to pump much less nurse him during the day. I’m sad about it because I never wanted to give him formula but I don’t want to deprive him either. I’ll be giving him a combo of solids and formula during the day and nursing him at home while pumping when I get the chance at work.

I was so nervous to try formula with him but he chugged it really quickly.

20131125-014934.jpg

That’s us at my desk while he’s drinking his first bottle. I went with Gerber Good Start Gentle since most of the proteins are broken down for easier digesting. He seemed to really like it.

For those of you who wonder what I do, I manage an Internet cafe while caring for my son. Sometimes he’s super fussy and I’m packed with customers, pulling my hair out. But I’ve managed. Let me tell you: it’s not easy to work with a baby next to you. It’s super demanding but I’m even more proud of myself for being able to do it.

Sidebar:

20131125-015305.jpg

This was AJ and his grandfather (my stepfather) this morning. He’s a barber so when we dropped by his job today, he thought it would be cute to pretend to give AJ a haircut. AJ loves him so he played along. They can be pretty adorable sometimes.

Xoxo
God bless.

P.S. Did I mention how excited I am for the holidays? My mom and I spent the night making pasteles en hojas which translated are ground-roots pockets or Caribbean-Style Tamales. Hopefully Google can it explain it better than I can. All I know is they’re delicious!

20131125-020221.jpg

Leave a Reply

